Feature #11147

Automatically save KeePassX database after every change by default

Added by segfault about 1 year ago. Updated about 1 year ago.

Status:ResolvedStart date:02/20/2016
Priority:NormalDue date:
Assignee:-% Done:

100%

Category:-
Target version:Tails_2.2
QA Check:Pass Blueprint:
Feature Branch: Easy:
Type of work:Discuss Affected tool:

Description

By default, KeePassX doesn't save changes (including new password entries) until the database is saved by the user. If KeePassX is closed with unsaved changes, it asks the user if should save the changes before closing.

Because Tails' shutdown immediately kills all running applications and doesn't halt for the "Save modified file?" dialog, I propose that we add this option to the KeePassX settings file by default. While automatically saving changes might sound dangerous, because it could save accidental changes, I don't think this would be a problem because KeePassX creates backup entries after each change by default (in the "Backup" group).

We also modify other settings in the KeePassX settings file, see config/chroot_local-includes/etc/skel/.config/keepassx/config.ini.
I would prepare a patch if you think this feature is desirable.


Related issues

Related to Tails - Bug #10061: Shutdown the GNOME session properly Confirmed 08/19/2015

Associated revisions

Revision 39c7468c
Added by segfault about 1 year ago

Automatically save KeePassX database after every change by default

Refs: #11147

History

#1 Updated by intrigeri about 1 year ago

  • Assignee set to segfault

Sounds like a good idea to me.

#2 Updated by segfault about 1 year ago

  • Status changed from New to Confirmed
  • QA Check set to Ready for QA

#3 Updated by sajolida about 1 year ago

  • Related to Bug #10061: Shutdown the GNOME session properly added

#4 Updated by sajolida about 1 year ago

  • Assignee changed from segfault to anonym
  • Target version set to Tails_2.2

Sounds good to me to. I guess this can be put in 2.2, no? So marking as "Ready for QA" and assigned to anonym, the RM.

#5 Updated by anonym about 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Confirmed to Fix committed
  • Assignee deleted (anonym)
  • % Done changed from 0 to 100
  • QA Check changed from Ready for QA to Pass

This seems like a very sane default to me, and one that I'm happy to diverge from upstream for. :)

I couldn't merge your branch as-is since it contains an unrelated commit, cb0ad0b -- please compare against devel in the future before sending pull requests! In this case it's no problem, of course, since the branch is so simple, so I just cherry-picked the intended commit. Thanks for you contribution!

#6 Updated by segfault about 1 year ago

I couldn't merge your branch as-is since it contains an unrelated commit, cb0ad0b

Oops, sorry. I must have branched from the wrong branch.

please compare against devel in the future before sending pull requests!

Will do.

Thanks for you contribution!

Thanks for merging it :)

#7 Updated by anonym about 1 year ago

  • Status changed from Fix committed to Resolved

Also available in: Atom PDF